National Instruments Architect Summit: New Certification Guidlines

As LabVIEW and TestStand developers creating customer applications, acquiring and maintaining our National Instruments certifications is important to both DISTek and our customers. Certification demonstrates up-to-date expertise with the software as new features are released and maintains our presence as  product experts in the technical community. To keep certifications current, we must periodically take the next higher certification exam or recertify at our current level.

Certification Status

As of March 2014, National Instruments has changed their certification/recertification policy. As before, there are three status definitions that apply to all certifications.

Active:  This status is achieved by passing a certification or recertification exam. The duration that active status is in effect now varies by certification type (previously the duration was 2 years for all certifications).

  • CLAD (Certified LabVIEW Associate Developer) – 2 years
  • CLD (Certified LabVIEW Developer) – 3 years
  • CLA (Certified LabVIEW Architect) – 4 years
  • CLED (Certified LabVIEW Embedded Systems Developer) – 5 years. (New this year)

Suspended: Suspended (Expired) status results if a certified individual does not pass the recertification exam OR pass the exam for the next level of certification OR recertify by points prior to the expiration date of the certification. In the suspended state, the individual’s name is removed from the list of certified professionals on, and the individual will not be allowed to take the exam for the next level of certification without first recertifying at the current level.  Suspended status is cleared and changed to Active upon passing the recertification exam within one year of the date of suspension.

Inactive:  Inactive status occurs after one year of Suspended status.  CLA’s who fail to recertify before the end of their suspended period begin their recertification process with the CLD practical exam, and CLD’s who fail to recertify begin with the CLAD practical exam.  Under the previous policy everyone started at the CLAD level exam.

Recertification Process

Certified Professionals can recertify by two methods, recertification by activity points or recertification by exam.

Recertification by Points:  Certified professionals can recertify and maintain their certification status by completing approved activities that accumulate points redeemable towards recertification.  Read the full policy on recertifying with points by downloading the Points Program Policy Document. Activities to earn points include:

  • Submitting Certification Exam Content
  • Attending or Teach Training Courses
  • Delivering Technical Presentations
  • Managing a LabVIEW User Group
  • Attending NIWeek, the CLA Summit, or an NI sponsored User Group Meeting

Recertification by Exam:  Certified professionals can recertify by taking the appropriate exam for their certification level:

  • CLAD – 1 hour multiple choice
  • CLD – 1 hour multiple choice
  • CLA – 1 hour multiple choice
  • CLED – TBD
  • Certified TestStand Developer – 1 hour multiple choice
  • Certified TestStand Architect – 1 hour multiple choice
  • Certified LabWindows/CVI Developer – 4 hour application development

Early Recertification

Recertification exams can be taken up to four months prior to the expiration date of a current certification.  Exams taken within this window do not alter current certification status, nor do they lessen the recertification interval.  If, for example, you are an active CLD whose certification expires March 1, 2014, and you fail the recertification exam on February 1, 2014, your certification is still valid until March 1, 2014.  Additionally, if your certification expires March 1, 2014, and you take and pass a recertification exam on February 1, 2014, your certification will remain active for 2 years from the original expiration date – through March 1, 2013.